Home » Writing and Other Works » Poems » Seven Wonders of humanity

Seven Wonders of humanity

“Only through the seven wonders was it possible for humanity to build seven wonders of Earth .” — Dreaming Human
How was the idea behind this poem conceived?  At 14,  my younger self thought that the Seven Wonders of the world should actually be renamed the Seven Wonders of Earth. .
Humanity doesn’t generally need any more stroking to our over-inflated egos.Yet, as lowlifes who underwent evolution to end up running (and paradoxically destroying) the planet, the  world’s truer wonders, I felt, lay in things far more awe-inducing than what we could merely physically build.
Two days, a couple of minuscule tweaks, hairs torn out and 6 pages later, this poem was born.
What’s it worth?
I was proven the value of Seven Wonders when it won the recent NST Niexter’s Young Writers’ Awards 2012, which you can read about here.
It wasn’t the certain amount of money won that made the award sweeter let me tell you. What matters more is the seven wonders that got me writing it in the first place.
Who is it for?
To some people, especially those who lack time or a poetic soul , Seven Wonders might be too long and too dreary.
To poets, it might be too wordy and lacking in metaphors and/or imagery for a poem. T
T o me, it’s kind of galling that my fourteen-year-old-self conceived poems that won awards while I haven’t quite gotten around to writing one yet. Said fourteen-year-old self is gleefully dancing in the background of my time-unbound psyche, by the way,
To most people, though, I think their main thoughts would be on which of the seven wonders might affect their lives more, and which appealed to them most in whatever way. See for yourself, which wonder is the most amazing to you?
SEVEN WONDERS
Were there an outsider, a foreigner
to come here a few days
from alien worlds yonder
watching men and their mad, mad ways.
Iwere it to hail you; it willsays:
 
“I hail you, human. You are one too, are you not?
Only they may know the answer to the question that I’ve got.
I shall explain, lest you show confusion
I seek none but truth, so pay me some attention:
My brethren say seven wonders
run rampant in this world.
I came to see them, I believe
I have seen them all.
 
The wonder known as love is the first that I have seen
Love, in a widow’s grief, or in a couple’s tiff
In the warmth of a mother’s arms as she asks where her child’s been.
Love has created the world; love, the flames of life..
To love is the act hardest to perform,
yet that wonder is ingrained, the basis of human nature.
 
Then I have seen belief
Laden in prayers and the eyes of the dying, the conviction of the dead
Either a mirror or a blindfold, truth that can deceive
Belief, if not powerful, is nothing.
 
Hope, another wonder I am privileged to see
in futures and children, no less, for children are hope incarnate.
Even without everything else, hope is last to flee
Dying and reborn, lingering through day or date.”
 
Three wonders, insofar of human lore
What, pray tell, would you have as the remaining four?
 
“In the eyes of stargazers and leaders alike
I see the wonder known as dreams
Dreams that gives purpose, propels revolutionaries to strike
It can shake the world, inspire ideas, shatter schemes!
Yes, hand-in-hand, dreams and wonder
often come together.
 
Fifth comes the wonder known as pride
that is, vanity in its mask of majesty.
One turn bringing a man’s downfall, another swaying victory to his side
Pride: the ultimate mistake in life and its brevity.
 
Next comes joy, also known as happiness. Do not scoff or laugh
— or rather, laugh a lot, for the pursuit of this is
the right of every being. Dance, smile, laugh!
Find joy, permit yourself to enjoy life, pursue happiness!
For even as a human lives, they are dying.
 
The seventh wonder, known to humans as empathy
also compassion, kindness. In alms given to the needy
in the strong helping the weak
where empathy reveals its face, is humanity at its peak.
While love is exclusive, purely for some and no other,
empathy encompasses all, one human to another.
If love creates the world, empathy perpetuates it.
 
So there it is, human. Seven wonders in all
Now for my question, if I may so have the gall.
Seven wonders you may have, but do you see these seven as such
Are they truly a wonder to you, or merely one, the rest not as much?
Are they in danger of fading; will humanity keep its call?
How do the seven look to you, if it’s true each human has it all?
 
I am returning home, human, where it is void of the seven wonders
so pray tell:
what meaning have you for the seven wonders?
And  due to them what change will your world befall?
 ..That, I believe, is something you and I may ponder.
COPYRIGHT Nurul Jasmine 2013
Which of the seven wonders do you consider most important, my dear snarkees? I have mine, but then this was never about me.

 

One thought on “Seven Wonders of humanity

Leave a Reply

